skip to Main Content

Hitchhiking in Uttarakhand – Lite

This is a short summary of the travel stories written in  “Hitchhiking in Uttarakhand ”  Travel series. It gives a peek into the posts in that series.

Route Map of "Hitchhiking in Uttarakhand"

Started my “Hitchhiking in Uttarakhand” From Dehradun. These are some of the  thumb rules I learnt in next few days while travelling in Uttarakhand.

Day 1 Started with Checking into the room at Dehradun and shopping for the items needed for rest the travel. After that went to see Tapkeswar Temple where Dronacharya said to have performed a penance for shiva and trained Pandavas and Kauravas. After that, took break for the day.

Day 2  Started the bus journey in the early morning and took a short break at Uttarkashi. Took a shared cab from there to Gangotri and stayed there for the night at Gangotri.

Day 3 We started the journey from Gangotri  and reached Srinagar by evening with  two short breaks at Uttarkashi , and Chamba.We took a break for the day at Srinagar.

Day 4 We started the journey from Srinagar in the morning and reached Badrinath by evening and had the darshan of Badrinarayana there.

Day 5 Started journey from Badrinath took a break for the day at Rudraprayag.

Day 6 Started the journey from Rudraprayag and reached SonPrayag by bus and  Gaurikund from there by shared cab.

We started trekking from Gaurikund and reached Kedarnath by noon.

Day 7 After darshan at Kedarnath , we started walking down and reached Son Prayag by evening.

Day 8 We took a bus from SonPrayag to  Haridwar and reached there by evening.

We went to evening Ganga aarthi .

Day 9 Started the journey back to home.

Day 1 is 10/10/2018

Back To Top